The Banda Brothers – Primavera


This is among my favorite albums…the performance of Primavera along is worth the cost of the entire album. Ramon Banda brought in a bunch of terrific musicians to cast this Latin project.


Choose to add hi-res files to your purchase * 

Hi-Res Downloads

Select a file format and mixing perspective for the files. Downloads will be sent via WeSendit. You will receive an email notice with a link to your purchase asap.

SKU: AIX 85050 Categories: , , , Tag:


The Banda Brothers project includes a collection of diverse tunes performed by some incredible musician friends of Ramon Banda, drummer and percussionist with Pancho Sanchez and now leader of his own band. I was thrilled to connect with guitarist Ron Eschet´é after over 25 years. When I first arrived in California in the 1970s, I would drive with my Gibson ES-175 to Long Beach and study with this fabulous musician. Another standout for me is the tune “Primavera” sung by Destani Wolf. I included that tune on our blu-ray sampler and people have been asking for it for years now. I’m thrilled that I can finally complete this project.

  • Destani Wolf, vocalsNando Perez, vocals
  • Tom Catanzaro, saxophone
  • Joe Bagg, organ
  • Ron Escheté, guitar
  • Chris Barron, piano
  • Alberto Salas, piano
  • Danilo Lozano, flute
  • Rene Camacho, bass
  • Joey De Leon, congas
  • Ramon Banda, drums

This is an eclectic selection of latin flavored tunes played with tremendous energy and engagement. Check out the samples and imagine this group in your own home.

This disc was shot using HD video equipment and is presented in 16:9 HD-Video on this Blu-ray disc.

Audio Samples:

  1. Fried Pies –
  2. The Eternal Triangle –
  3. Primavera –
  4. Bolivia –
  5. When I Was There –
  6. Sweet Lorraine –
  7. Song For My Lydia –
  8. El Swing –

Additional information

Weight 7 oz
Dimensions 7.5 × 6 × 0.5 in



Destani Wolf, Nando Perez, Tom Catanzaro, Joe Bagg, Ron Escheté, Chris Barron, Alberto Salas, Danilo Lozano, Rene Camacho, Joey De Leon, Ramon Banda

1 review for The Banda Brothers – Primavera

  1. aixrecords_pvjrhg

    The Banda Brothers – Primavera, Blu-ray (2013)
    Home » DVD & Blu-ray Video Reviews » The Banda Brothers – Primavera, Blu-ray (2013)

    by John Sunier | Apr 30, 2013 | DVD & Blu-ray Video Reviews |

    The Banda Brothers – Primavera, Blu-ray (2013) Buy this product on
    The Banda Brothers – Primavera, Blu-ray (2013)

    Performers: Destani Wolf – vocals; Nando Perez – vocals; Ron Eschete – guitar; Nanilo Lozano – flute; Tom Catanzaro – saxophone; Joe Bagg – organ; Chris Barron – piano; Alberto Salas – piano; Rene Camacho – bass; Joey De Leon – congas; Ramon Banda – drums, percussion [TrackList below]
    Studio: Aix Records AIX 85050 [1/29/13] (Distr. by Naxos)
    Video: 1.78:1 for 16:9 1080i HD
    Audio: PCM 2.0 (96 kHz/24-bit); Dolby TrueHD 5.1 (96 kHz/24-bit) (Audience Mix or Stage Mix); DD 5.1; 2-Channel FLAC (96 kHz/24-bit); MP3 (320 kbps); Headphone Surround Mix (48kHz/24-bit)
    Length: 65 minutes
    Ratings: Video: **** Audio: *****

    Raised in California, brothers Ramon and Tony Banda were part of a family heritage. Before the age of ten, they were playing with their uncle, Mike Chavarria, at house parties, weddings and dances across Southern California. They were influenced by a wide variety of musical styles, including traditional Mexican, rhythm and blues, Latin “cha-cha” and jazz. As sideman, the brothers graced the jazz world with such diverse artists as Dizzy Gillespie, Tito Puente, Cal Tjader, Celia Cruz, Ray Charles, Mongo Santamaria, Ry Cooder, Jackson Browne, Eddie Harris, and many others. In 1996, they formed their own band, The Banda Brothers, and established their own legacy.

    AIX Records has released a Blu-ray studio performance of this illustrious band. Primavera, shot in hi-def and utilizing multichannel 96 kHz/24 bit analog-to-digital conversion is an audiophile delight. The group performs eight scintillating jazz pieces in several instrumental formats. Opening the studio “performance” is a bluesy romp, “Fried Pies”. Fronting a trio, guitarist Ron Eschete executes a tight flowing groove. Joe Bagg delivers fluid runs on the organ, as Ramon Banda provides a cohesive drum anchor. Turning to bop, Sonny Stitt’s “Eternal Triangle” is hard-driving with Tom Catanzano assuming lead on tenor saxophone accompanied by Banda, Rene Camacho (doublebass) and piano rounding out the quartet. In another change of pace (and there are many) the title track is warm and expressive. Vocalist Destani Wolf contributes an intriguing throaty vocal against a mellow, though rhythmic, jam. Danilo Lozano brings a South American vibe with his breezy turn on flute.

    All of the musicians are first-rate. On an original composition (“When I Was There”), pianist Chris Barron evokes the meditative eloquence of Bill Evans. His combination of left-hand chords and right-hand notation is dynamic. Eschete and the trio return for a cover of “Sweet Lorraine”. There is an underlying rhythm (thanks to Banda), that frames the song in a sprightly playful mode. The final pair of tunes (“Song For My Lydia” and “El Swing”) are percolating, and emphasize intricate syncopated tempos. Banda and Joey De Leon (congas) explode with percussive force in these festive Cuban-jazz translations.

    The HD video quality is excellent. There are a cadre of overhead shots, instrumental close-ups (especially on drums and piano), and different visual angles. The editing is crisp and avoids any monotony. The different audio mixes are masterful. All of the instrumental tonality sounds full and textured. Eschete’s guitar is crisp, with superb clarity. Drums and congas flow with the other instruments. Even at increased volume levels, the sound is impeccable. There is a special 5.1 “stage” mix that is designed for headphone use.

    TrackList: Fried Pies; The Eternal Triangle; Primavera; Bolivia; When I Was There; Sweet Lorraine; Song For My Lydia; El Swing

    –Robbie Gerson

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…